Machine Learning Seminar Fall 2018 — Pieter Abbeel, UC Berkeley

Monday, August 20, 2018 - 12:15pm to 1:15pm
Marcus Nanotechnology Building, Rooms 1116-1118

Event Details

The Machine Learning Center at Georgia Tech presents a seminar by Pieter Abbeel from UC Berkeley. The event will be held in the Marcus Nanotechnology Building, Rooms 1116-1118, from 12:15-1:15 p.m. and is open to the public.




Pieter Abbeel (BS/MS EE KU Leuven, 2000; Ph.D. CS Stanford, 2008, Advisor: Andrew Ng) is professor at UC Berkeley (EECSBAIR) since 2008 and was a Research Scientist at OpenAI 2016-2017.

Pieter has developed apprenticeship learning algorithms which have enabled advanced helicopter aerobatics, including maneuvers such as tic-tocs, chaos, and auto-rotation, which only exceptional human pilots can perform. His group has enabled the first end-to-end completion of reliably picking up a crumpled laundry article and folding it and has pioneered deep reinforcement learning for robotics, including learning locomotion and visuomotor skills. His work has been featured in many popular press outlets, including BBC, New York Times, MIT Technology Review, Discovery Channel, SmartPlanet, and Wired.

His current research focuses on robotics and machine learning with a particular focus on deep reinforcement learning, deep imitation learning, deep unsupervised learning, meta-learning, learning-to-learn, and AI safety.

He has won various awards, including:

  • ICRA 2018 Best Paper Finalist
  • ICLR 2018 Best Paper Award
  • NIPS 2016 Best Paper Award
  • ICRA 2015 Best Robotic Manipulation Paper Award
  • ICRA 2015 Best Medical Robotics Paper Finalist
  • ICRA 2013 Best Vision Paper Award
  • ICRA 2012 Best Vision Paper Finalist
  • ICRA 2010 Best Medical Robotics Paper Award
  • ICML 2008 Best Application Paper Award
  • Diane McEntyre Award for Excellence in Teaching 2018 (Computer Science, UC Berkeley)
  • IEEE Fellow (class of 2018)
  • CRA-E Undergraduate Research Faculty Mentoring Award
  • Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE)
  • Sloan Fellowship
  • National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development Program Award (NSF-CAREER)
  • Air Force Office of Scientific Research Young Investigator Program Award (AFOSR-YIP)
  • Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Program Award (ONR-YIP)
  • Darpa Young Faculty Award (Darpa-YFA)
  • Okawa Foundation Award
  • MIT Technology Review Top 35 Innovators under 35 (TR35)
  • IEEE Robotics and Automation Society Early Career Award (IEEE-RAS Early Career Award)
  • Dick Volz Best U.S. Ph.D. Thesis in Robotics and Automation Award

For More Information Contact

Allie McFadden

Communications Officer