Five New Faculty Join CSE

The School of Computational Science and Engineering is pleased to welcome five new faculty members. From Texas to South Korea, the new members arriving at the CSE for the 2017-2018 year bring with them a host of skills and knowledge to enhance the learning and experience of students from the CSE to the ECE.

“These new members join our team of high-caliber leaders that is continuously pushing the industry forward. Their level of expertise and their drive to further the CSE mission assures that the students and the community are guaranteed the top-notch research and educational opportunities that are fundamental to CSE,” said CSE Chair David Bader.

EAS/ECE Joint Appointment Professor Felix Herrmann holds a Ph.D. in Engineering Physics from Delft University of Technology and comes to CSE after being a professor for the Department of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences at the University of British Columbia. Herrmann is responsible for key innovations in computational exploration of seismology including seismic data processing, randomized seismic acquisition with compressive sensing, and wave-equation based inversion with constraints. He has served as a deputy editor of Geophysical Prospecting for five years and serves on the editorial board of the Journal of Applied Geophysics. Herrmann’s recent award for his work, Wavefield Reconstruction Inversion—A New Perspective on FWI, won the EAGE Distinguished Lecturer Award in 2015.

Assistant Professor Tobin “Toby” Isaac received a Ph.D. from the University of Texas at Austin. His research area is high-performance computing and he has won awards such as the SIAM/Supercomputing Early Career Prize in 2016 “for superb contributions to high-performance computational science at the interface of applied mathematics, computer science, software, and continuum physics,” among many others. Isaac’s specific areas of research include parallel algorithms for mesh refinement and distribution.

Visiting Associate Professor Anne Benoit, a junior member of the Institut Universitaire de France, taught masters of computer science at ENS Lyon with a focus on algorithms for telecommunications systems and networks, as well as resilient and energy-aware scheduling algorithms. Her research projects have included being a principal investigator of the Keystone Inria Associate Team with Vanderbilt University on Scheduling Algorithms for Spars Linear Algebra at Extreme Scale and a member of the ELCI project, a French software project that brings together academic and industrial partners to provide a software environment for the next generation of HPC systems.

Postdoctoral Fellow Woosang Lim received a Ph.D. from the School of Computing at KAIST University and is now working with Haesun Park and Jimeng Sun of the CSE. He was awarded the Google Ph.D. Fellow in Machine learning in 2016 and honored as a spotlight presenter at the Machine Learning Summer School in 2015. Lim’s primary interests include scalable and efficient machine learning relating to low-rank approximation, manifold learning, sampling methods, graph mining, and stream data.

Research Scientist II Kumar Aatish received his Masters in Computational Science, Mathematics, and Engineering from the University of California San Diego. He is leaving a software developer position at ArrayFire specializing in parallel computing technologies such as GPGU (CUDA, OpenCL), Intel Xeon Phi, and IBM Cell BE. Aatish is experienced in a variety of numerical and graph analytic algorithms.


Kristen Perez

Communications Officer I

College of Computing - School of Computational Science and Engineering


(Office) 404-385-4074

(Mobile) 678-779-9362